top of page

October Update: A UUPG & Other Opportunities


This is the Kotokoli group we hosted for a project last Saturday. Faces are blurred out of utmost caution. The man is Pastor Tchagouni, who serves as our cultural informant and translator among the Kotokoli people.

Praise Reports:

1. That God has given me the opportunity to teach English, and thus the Bible, weekly.

2. That we've had two successful Pad Projects.

3. That evangelism opportunities are increasing.


Prayer Requests:

1. That my team and I would have the wisdom and stamina to witness well in our last year before we return to the US.

2. That we would be able to facilitate strategically-placed wells with GAiN.

3. That I would be effective as an English teacher.


 

Hello, lovely people! It’s time for another update. I cannot express enough thanks for your prayers—they are the engine to our work here. Thank you, additionally, to those who have financially supported this mission. I’ll give you all the rundown in rough chronological order.


Several months back, I began having a Bible study with my supervisor’s teenage daughter, Christianna. This has been a great way for us to learn God’s word and encourage each other to apply it to our lives. More specifically, we’re currently going through a curriculum on how to glorify the Lord as women.


During one of mine and Christianna’s Bible studies, a local friend popped in and I was able to teach her the “Sword” study method, which an m friend named Heather taught me.


Not long after beginning the Bible study, Christianna and I were able to briefly help at the Kids’ Camp at Sentinels Baptist Church. Hundreds of children attended. Instead of playing Duck, Duck, Goose, we played Canard, Canard, Cheval (Duck, Duck, Horse in French). This is honestly because I hadn’t looked up the word for goose before I lost cellphone data…c’est la vie. Christianna also taught the children the dance to “God Blessed Texas.” Cultural genocide, or cultural enhancement? The latter is my opinion.


The best part of our Kids’ Camp experience was when we were able to hold another Pad Project. Recall that in these I share a gospel-highlighting devotional, and we distribute the women’s health kits. This time, we had a local nurse who was able to answer the girls’ various questions.


A helpful school nurse walks in front of the Pad Project participants from the last Kids' Camp.

Around the same time, my supervisors and I met with President Pierre Adossi of the Togo Baptist Convention. He delegated several initiatives to our team, with the well project being most relevant to my job. We were asked to work with Global Aid Relief International to have a well put in each of the 17 Baptist associations across Togo. The water crisis is real here, and Christian leaders are feeling pressure because certain Islamic officials are offering to share their wells (Two things: This is kind, but people are prone to worship what they believe is providing for them. Second, while still impoverished, much of the Muslim population here benefits from donations paid by the Middle East’s oil industry success).


We’d like to get the ball rolling on the well drillings. The issue is that the task of choosing which churches to place the wells nearby has been left to us American missionaries who spend the majority of our time in the city of Lomé. Therefore, we’re having to wait on the first map of Togo’s Baptist associations to be made and we have to figure out which churches are solid candidates through word-of-mouth. Prayers, please! We want the wells to be placed near congregations that need them the most and that are strategic for gospel-advancement.


Kimberly and I have additionally been given gospel tracts to pass out as we go about life.

They’re great because the message is clearly explained in French, and there’s a number one could call to speak with a representative in either French or Ewe (which is the predominant language here on the coast). I’m hoping to have more gospel conversations as I do this—my French is clunky, but I can roll out some truths!


Speaking of language, I’ve just finished my first month of teaching weekly English classes out at Pastor Denis’ school in Djagble. Because the principal is a pastor, the Christian influence is strong. However, I’ve already identified prosperity gospel in the classroom, and not all the children’s families know the Lord. In each class, I make sure to incorporate Biblical truth.

On another note, sometimes I run into issues such as contradicting the British English that the students' main teacher has given them, or not being able to make out their local cursive-style of writing on the board. I feel the classes have gone well, overall, but these moments can be awkward.


These are my 25 students. They range in age from 11-17 and have varying levels of English ability. Pastor Denis and his wife, Madame Sisseni, are also in the back.

For the latest and most exciting news, Kimberly and I held our third Pad Project with 8 women from the Kotokoli unreached, unengaged people group last Saturday (one wasn’t able to attend, but the ladies did bring three children along, increasing the attendance to eleven). Since these women practice folk Islam, we kept the group small so there was less fear of judgment from others. Additionally, I swapped one of the New Testament stories for the story about God filling the widow’s pots with oil through the prophet Elisha in 2 Kings 4. They all seemed very invested, and we recorded their contact information to involve them in further projects (learn more about this UUPG here: https://joshuaproject.net/people_groups/12815/TO ).


While doing the last Pad Project, Pastor Tchagouni (see caption on title picture) invited me to evangelize a neighborhood with his church group two Saturdays a month. I also plan on making a trip to the town Aneho to assist in women's ministry in an upcoming weekend.


That’s the bulk of what we’ve had going on lately. My team would appreciate prayers for ministry acceleration and opportunities. As always, please reach out to me if you have questions. God bless you all.


Just for fun: Since my last update, I celebrated my first birthday in Africa. Along with the Yoakum family and my friends Mabelle and Rosimeri, we went to an Indian restaurant, watched Disney's "Aladdin," and had cake.

Just for fun: Kimberly and I attended a wedding recently. Being the only Caucasians present, we received as much special attention as the couple's family. It wasn't the most comfy thing for me...but you've just got to roll with it.

bottom of page